0 words written
+ 2,398
    2,398 total words written (Par: 5,001)

Today I slacked. I slacked a lot but for understandable reasons. At least I think so…

I slept in until 6am (yes! I know! I whole hour!) even though it didn’t really feel like I did, got up and made my coffee. Instead of sitting down and writing though, I plopped down and caught up on some news. That was what I used to do before starting NaNoWriMo.

Went to work which I knew was going to be a short day because we would be having a formal event later that evening. Even though it was a shorter day it was a lot of running around, appointments to be made, and last minute things to get taken care of. After all, it was my last day at work for almost two weeks.

Got off work at 10am, went home, and played video games. I’d been hitting things rather hard both at work and in my personal life so it was good relaxing. Not quite writing relaxing, but the absent-minded I-just-need-to-vegetate-for-awhile kind of relaxing.

Tried putting my daughter down for a nap around 1pm. I napped instead. After that, it was time to start getting things ready to go to my work event which would last the rest of the evening.

By the time I got home, it was a little after 10pm. Yup, no writing would be occurring now. Too tired. But hey, I have the next two weeks of staycationing to catch up.

Lesson of today: It’s okay to take breaks during NaNoWriMo. Yes, you will miss out on the fancy little 30 day badge you can earn, but that is not worth sacrificing your sanity for. Pick your battles where you can wisely and it makes the month and the writing a lot more enjoyable.

Leave a Reply

