NaNoWriMo Writing Plan

8 days left until the start of National Novel Writing Month (NaNoWriMo). That has been my goal all along and I have used this month as a stepping stone towards that. I do plan on posting to the blog here during NaNoWriMo, but it is not going to be my primary focus as it has been for this month.

The point of NaNoWriMo is to get a 50,000 word rough draft down on paper. Whether it be physical paper or digital, just so long as its been jotted down. I attempted to do this last year but fell short due to an overall lack of knowing what exactly I was doing. I have had a whole year to prepare though and things are going to be different.

With that, here is my plan:

  • 50,000 words ÷ 30 days = ~1,667 words per day
  • I can type up to 85 words per minute which means that I theoretically can:
    • Type 1,667 words in less than 20 minutes
    • Type 500 words in less than 6 minutes

At the very least, during the weekdays I plan on writing 500 words in the morning, 500 during lunch, and then the remaining 667 or whatever is left at the end of the day. The morning is where I will have the most uninterrupted time since both my wife and daughter are still asleep when I leave for work.

During the weekends, its weapons free. Writing only 1,667 The biggest issue will be eliminating other distractions such as people, TV, video games, etc. Each weekend or holiday period that I will have time off (Veteran’s Day for example), I will go someplace out of the house to write. Starbucks for example… or just anywhere really.

That is the base concept of how I plan on getting through NaNoWriMo. Things will adjust a little bit on a day-by-day basis, but the framework is there.

Leave a Reply

